The acceptable face of hoarding

Some people hoard cats.  I’m not one of them, I have only three of the little critters and that’s not hoarding unless you live in a cupboard.  Some people hoard tins and bottles.  These are useful for all those things you never get around to doing, but three boxes later I started bundling them up and leaving them on the pavement for the municipality.  Not hoarding.

But then there’s wool.  Wool, yarn, fibers, no matter what you call it, this is an addiction that can get seriously out of hand.  Because there’s this

DSC05861

and this

DSC05892

Never mind plain old sheep and goats, there’s yarn made out of soya, banana fiber, sugar cane and seaweed.  There’s yarn made out of your cat’s hair, the neighbour’s yak or camel.  How about peat moss and curds and whey, spider webs, citrus peel?  Yarn spun with seeds, nuts, beads and bits and pieces from the hardware store.  I’ve even seen yarn made from bison, although how the fibers are harvested is beyond my imagination.  Ditto with possum from New Zealand.

And when you reach a certain point in your yarn addiction, simple hoarding turns into STASH.

enhanced-buzz-31932-1374167565-14

I won’t discuss the woefully inadequate size of my stash.  Needs dedicated work.  Suffice it to say that when you stop buying and start using your stash it’s no longer stash, it’s SUPPLIES and you can never have too much of that.

Now where’s that postman?  I’ve ordered sequinned Golden Retriever yarn to add to my stash.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The acceptable face of hoarding

  1. Helen says:

    It is hard to be disciplined around beautiful stuff which is or will be actually useful!

    I do unfortunately hoard other things which could be supplies, if only I had the time….

  2. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    I hear you about discipline, Helen. I have a separate “cheap wool” stash which I use for experiments and somehow I never have the right color I need, so back to the store I go. Let’s not even mention those online wool stores.

  3. Dani says:

    Hmmm – notice you didn’t mention alpaca wool 😀 Yeah, I’m also a hoarder of all sorts for those project I’m going to complete “one day when I have the time”…!

  4. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    I can’t wait to try alpaca Dani, it’s just so pricy, but I’m going to start with a blend. Baby steps! The banana silk arrived today and it’s quite lovely. I’ll have to whisper to it to find out what it wants me to make out of it.

  5. there is also Bamboo.I have bought a T shirt using bamboo..it is quite soft and a bit like viscose.

  6. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    I knitted a jersey from local organic cotton and bamboo, it drapes beautifully. .

Leave a Reply

