One of each

For some reason, my backyard garden is producing one of each

DSC05622

Green pepper.  One.

DSC05621

Sweetcorn.  One only.  Ah well, shouldn’t be greedy.

My neighbour loves purple.  She is an enthusiastic pruner of my purple in all its forms, lavender especially.  In return for the purple plunder, she gave me this cutting

DSC05623

It’s a purple lovers delight, with leaves that are green on top and purple underneath and a purple flower.  I have absolutely no idea what it is, but the purple is starting to get to me.

 

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Backyard Farm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One of each

  1. I dont know what it is..the purple plant

  2. google a description and look at images

  3. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    This is hilarious, it’s a plectranthus called ‘Velvet Elvis’. Part of the mint family.

  4. Helen says:

    No idea what your neighbour’s gift is but purple is my favourite colour. Can’t wait till I have lavender this year 🙂

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      I hardly watered my lavender at all then chopped off the withered tops and it’s sprouting up beautifully. It’s one of those treat-em-mean-keep-em-keen plants.

      • Helen says:

        I hope so! Good plant…. The only thing is its soporific qualities. A couple of years ago I visited a lavender farm and had to spend the rest of that day as well as the next in bed 😉

  5. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    Wow I had no idea it could do that. I suppose the essential oil people just build up an immunity.

Leave a Reply

