On forgiveness, heat and mini-me’s

All is forgiven, my new fence goes all the way around

DSC05463

I have a gate I can lock

DSC05462

It’s not 100% complete, there’s a bolt missing into the wall over here

DSC05461

But I’m holding two very long planks of wood as hostage until I get that bolt.

All in all, it looks swell, does the job and is now ready for floral embellishment.

Small problem is the heat, the heat!  Yesterday was 41 degrees C.  Every winter I vow never to complain about the heat, but this was truly mind-bending.  The cats were melting into the floor.  The most popular spot in town was the walk-in fridge at the bottle store, where people suddenly had trouble making up their minds what they wanted.

Needless to say, the vegetable garden is looking rather wilted, and reality suggests that these are the plants I should be concentrating on in the future.

DSC05468

DSC05469

Then I was reminded that assumptions can truly make an ass out of me.

When I moved in, there was a resident stray tomcat of the ginger persuasion living in the backyard, a little boy who was frequently beaten up by the other much larger strays.  I decided (in my wisdom) to give him the odd meal or two, to supplement his hunting and put a little meat on his skinny frame.

He came and went at will, disappearing for weeks at a time, until Christmas day when he decided to let on that “he” was in fact a she and proud mom to three little big-eared mini-me’s.  Dinner for four in the wood shed.

Dinner is served

DSC05480

DSC05481

I’ve decided to let them live their lives untroubled by my own ideas of how cats should live, ie, loafing around the kitchen and sucking up tuna in massive quantities.  I’m giving them a safe space and a bit of food and that’s more than most of the cats in this town get.  One thing’s for sure, I have no fear of mice creeping into the house anytime soon.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On forgiveness, heat and mini-me’s

  1. Dani says:

    T’was wickedly hot yesterday – I have never experienced it that hot – ever before.

    Think about putting up a gumpole pergola over your veggie area. Cover it (roof area only) with 40 – 50% shadecloth, ensure your beds are damp, and well mulched, and you can grow what you please. We were up at 5.00 a.m. yesterday, watering our plants before the heat. We obviously did a good job – not even my pumpkins showed any sign of wilting 😉

    You can always disguise the gumpoles with creepers – even pumpkins (I’ll post about that in a couple of weeks)

    • Dani says:

      P.S. You fence looks great!

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      I’m definitely thinking a gumpole pergola for the veg garden. First I need to reroute the washing line, north south, then it’s entirely do-able. My strong-arm man turned out to be a chronic tik addict, so common in this town alas, but too risky for someone living alone. I will get it all done slowly. It’s like eating an elephant, one spoon at a time.

      • Dani says:

        Why not use the pergola for your washing line? Details in another post which is planned for January 🙂

      • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

        I think that’s a good idea as the washing line only gets used once a week or so. The logistics of getting the poles into the ground is something I must work on, but at this point nothing is impossible. That word just does not exist.

      • Dani says:

        The locals use a koevoet to dig holes – together with an empty tune or baked bean tin. Takes them not time at all. Biggest problem is getting the top poles fixed to the uprights – you’ll need a drill and wood bit, as well as sections of 10mm threadbar and 10mm nuts.

      • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

        I have a drill and a koevoet which someone left behind after the sewage pipe fix. I will use it quickly before he comes to get it. Such a useful implement.

  2. NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

    Thanks Dani. I was given the ultimate compliment on Christmas day when a group of sharp dressed young men posed in front of my house for their photographs. Cannot get higher praise than that.

  3. claire! more cats..beware the old cat lady!

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      Well I’m trying not to be that crazy cat lady, but it seems the “dad” of the kittens has also moved in. He belongs to the neighbours, but he’s such a battered old thing, he’s tugging my heartstrings as well. So I have the two in the house and five in the back, and I’ve started thinking of names for the kittens – Wynken, Blynken and Nod, the ones that sailed off in a wooden shoe. Giving them names is fatal.

Leave a Reply

