Pumpkin explosion

Very exited about my pumpkin explosion.

Butternut

Loads of them

Butternut2

My next two beds are ready to be filled, and I look forward to a bumper crop

New beds

of this furry type of ginger flavoured pumpkin that seems to grow wild in these parts.

Woody

All overseen by the watchful sentinel on top of the washing line

Nunu up pole

And then there’s this honey.

Honey

This is great honey, super honey, super-great honey with PERSONALITY.  I only managed to get two bottles, due to the unfortunate fact that my Afrikaans is still slightly rusty.  When the proprietor of the bee farm came to my house with his stocks, I mixed up two words heuning (honey) and heining (fence).  Since I’ve organised someone to do my fence, I sent him on his way with thanks and only realised my mistake the next day.  Sucks to be me.

I’m thinking of getting my own bee box and pulling out the “Beekeeping for dummies” manuals.  I shall consult the manuals first before subjecting the bees to my tenderly ignorant ministrations.  It’s the least I can do.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Backyard Farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

