Crazy birds

The first time this happened, I was a bit freaked out, cos I’ve seen that movie.

birds

Twenty or thirty birds swooping in and out of my stoep, in and out.  In, touch the wall and out.  In, touch the ceiling and out.  It wasn’t just because I was frightened that my cats would decide it was the right time to work on their hunting skillset, but something about all that flapping, frenetic energy that gave me the willies in a Hitchkokian sense.

Apparently quite normal according to my neighbours.

This morning they were back and with a loud thump, one of them connected with the window and it was lights out.  On the back, still breathing, but clearly seriously stunned.  After scrambling to keep the cats otherwise occupied, I left the little thing to recover, not with high hope.  It was a baby, the feathers were still wet.  Later I saw it was on its feet, but not moving very much.  At that point the kitten came around the corner, caught a glimpse and … too late, off it flew, yay.

I do love happy endings.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Country Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crazy birds

  1. Dani says:

    Oh yes, Alfred’s “Birds” lives with me still – and I have the same reaction as you… 😉

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      I once went into a cave and the bats started flapping around us. That thing about them getting into your hair is a myth, they never touch you, but shoo, it was pretty nerve wracking.

Leave a Reply

