Mad persons and solid rock

DSC04853

I am fully aware of just how mad this is.  This is my outhouse, the theory is that placing my peas here will provide support so the trellis doesn’t blow down in the hectic winds we get in these ‘ere parts.

That ground is pretty much solid slate, which shatters when hammered with a spade.  Not as bad as boulders that have to be dug out, but fairly back-breaking all the same.  The frame was made out of old skirting boards I found in my garden shed.

It’s mad alright, but only needs to be done once and should last for years.

DSC04855

Twelve bags of potting soil, seven bags of compost, bonemeal, lime, fertiliser, three trips to the co-op, a lot of strange looks from the locals and the peas are in.  I’m giving them company with corn, cauliflower, eggplant, parsley and basil and a long cool drink of rain water.

The ants think I’m mad too, giving them a free meal of icing sugar, but there’s borax in there, which apparently they take back to the nest and boom.  Plop.  Ded.  Bwahahaha.

DSC04857

Maybe not quite so mad after all.  If I can induce my friend to part with his recipe for Thai fish with snap peas and baby corn, I’ll be getting the last laugh.

 

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Backyard Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mad persons and solid rock

  1. Pingback: Mad persons and solid rock | Giggletree Design | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  2. Does not look mad to me, a sound idea with some lovely soil to use !

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      The mad bit was doing it with a rake, spade and fork instead of getting a pickaxe. I also wrecked my rake, but never mind it was a wimpy city rake and now I can get a good solid robust one to replace it. And a pickaxe.

Leave a Reply

