Fabric flowers – plucking a stick for my own back

Image

I used to make flowers out of felt, which was a lot of work with all the hand sewing.  Unfortunately felt doesn’t wear very well, it droops, attracts dust and gets those little pilled balls like old jerseys.

So just to make things extra difficult for myself, I made these out of fabric, which means machine sewing the shape, notching, turning around, ironing and then doing all the hand sewing.  To keep the strelitzia petals upright I had to wire them, which meant sewing a channel for the wire, inserting wire and hand sewing onto the sheath, which by the way is called a spathe.  I’m a font of useful information I am.

  Image

I have holes in my fingers!

Image

But I do like the way they look.

Don’t call me a masochist, but now I’m thinking proteas.  Lilies.  Daffodils. 

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

