It works – printing on fabric

Image

It took me a long time to pluck up the courage to try this, I was scared of messing up my printer, but if I think of all the hours I’ve spent trawling from shop to shop looking for a particular print of fabric, the risk was worth it.  And it works, it does and beautifully.

Image

Easy too, box of full-page labels from my local Bond Stationers.  Iron the fabric, stick label on, run rubber roller over it a few times to get out any air bubbles.  Cut fabric to the exact size of the label with rotary cutter. Plunk into printer, hold your breath and voila.

You need an inkjet printer for this, one that feeds straight down so that it doesn’t get hooked on rollers.  To make it color fast, apparently you can dunk it in a vinegar bath.  I haven’t tried this yet, but the formula is 2 liter water to 125ml vinegar, boil it up and throw in your square.  Rinse in cold water. 

The downside is that you need a good quality picture to start off with.  Poor quality pics downloaded from the Net are going to print as poor quality and pixillated.  Ah well another day another challenge.

I can see I’m going to have to add lots of printer cartridges to my budget.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

