The taxman giveth and then he taketh away

In South Africa, there is a general perception that the revenue service is the most efficient government department amongst a horde of absolute horrors.  They are very good at ferretting out every last cent you might owe them, and not too bad about refunding what they owe you.

I was extra delighted last year to find out that I was due a refund of a whole ZAR8,000.  Not only that, but they deposited it into my account promptly and I went out and bought a freezer for my kitchen and put the rest into savings, because a little voice in my head keeps saying “don’t ever trust the government”.

So far so good you’d think, except that they failed to let me know that they did a second assessment, oops mistake and I was informed (only three months later with interest piling on) that I had to pay the eight grand back. 

Easier said than done.  After a couple of futile attempts to EFT them, I decided to call their call center, after all, since SARS is so efficient, surely ….  First attempt I was number 178 in the queue.  I abandoned, tried something else, but no go.  Tried the call center again and I was now number 447 in the queue.  Obviously not a happening thing.  I tried my bank, they couldn’t help.  Back to the call center and this time they didn’t bother to tell me where in the queue I was, so I held on, did some knitting, sauntered upstairs and had a pee, made a cup of coffee, paid my levy, baked a cake, Number 217 in the queue.  Nothing to be done, but wait and wait.  45 minutes later, I was at least back to 178 in the queue. 

To keep my spirits up I surfed the Net, looking for people with real problems to put my own small ones into perspective, murder, kidnapping, horrible accidents.  This helped a little bit, but the call center music was now becoming engraved on my cranium.  An hour later I found out I was number 78 in the queue.

There had to be a better way, I went back to the SARS site, found the right button and did a debit order payment.  I hate doing these, as they give the recipient carte blance into your account, but at this point I would have crawled on my hands and knees to Alberton with a stack of notes rather than listen to that music for one more second.

One hour fifteen minutes later it looked as though I paid them and I hung up the phone.  I think I’ve paid them, I think so.  Otherwise I’m going to have to shoot myself in the head.

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

