Work in progress – farm animals – the pig

Image

Michelangelo said that sculpture was quite simply the removal of superfluous matter, or in layman’s terms, when sculpting a camel, take away anything that isn’t a camel.

When designing toys I have to use a completely different approach.  I start with something like a blob and make it over and over again until it looks like what I intend.  In this instance, I need to pig up my blob until it looks piggy enough for my own standards.  I know I’ve succeeded when the proverbial 3 year old kid looks at it and goes “Peeeeeeg”.

The one on the left has the better piggy butt, but the front legs are a bit unstable.  The one on the right has a more squished in face, which I prefer, but the butt is too cow.  I’ll keep that butt in mind when I’m doing the cow, but right now I need to combine these two blobs and pig it right up to the maximum.  Ah well, back to the drawing board.

Image

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

