First art quilt – Oryx in the Namibian desert

Image

Sweet lord in heaven, I finally finished this thing, and all I can see are faults.  I had to keep leaving the room and popping back to see if it was as dreadful as I thought.  Not so awful, not so great, disappointing, but not bad for a first attempt using a sewing machine from the middle ages (just kidding, but it is vintage circa 1955).  I just want to do so much better, I want to make people feel that sand in their toes, hear that absolute silence, I want to …. to…. to recreate that incredible experience of the lonely, dusty, stark Namibian desert all in cloth.  So terribly hard, but so worth trying.

Anyway, for what it’s worth I’ve posted this one in my etsy and DaWanda shops and can’t wait to try again.  More oryx next time, they always move around in giant herds, but my fingers are sore, and there’s always tomorrow.

Image

 

 

About NIDS LOVE BIG EYES

South African writer, crafter and all round animal lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First art quilt – Oryx in the Namibian desert

  1. I cracked up when I read how you kept popping back in to see if it was as dreadful as you thought. I did that on my first 3 quilts. My first piece I fused it too heavy and long and I couldn’t stitch through my appliques. After that, I started sketching and using color before starting my art quilt and it has helped me get a better idea how the final piece will look. I am a beginner at this and love this craft but it’s so hard to get the art piece to look like what I was going for. Fun process though.

    As far as your piece goes, you were going for stark and think you achieved exactly what you were going for. The quilting is nice also, it really portrays the movement in the sand; I like it.

    • NIDS LOVE BIG EYES says:

      Thanks Jans

      I do this when I’m house painting as well, I have to leave the room, then come back and see it with new eyes. I know the problem with the quilting is somewhat to do with my machine, which is ancient, but I am going to do something about this quite soon. I’m going to follow your blog, so I can learn. I’m pretty damn hooked on art quilts now.

Leave a Reply

